BLACK LIVES MATTER – LONDON

I’m tired. I’m just really, really tired. Of black people being marginalised by society. Of people retaliating with violence. Of people not being able to understand that Black Lives Matter is not anti-white or anti-police. It’s not discarding the many other groups of people who have been and continue to be broken down. All lives will matter when black lives matter too.

Source: BBC

In light of recent events, people with a voice and a platform to share it have expressed concern with what has become the status quo. There have been protests all over the US and, sadly, 5 police officers lost their lives in Dallas. Violence doesn’t do anything except create more sadness, more heartache, more frustration.

Source: BBC

Here’s my reaction to the BBC’s video footage of London’s peaceful #BLM protest:

“it seems super self-indulgent to say that i can’t watch this without welling up. i’m overwhelmed.

i see myself, my family & my friends in the people who are mistreated by the systems that are supposed to protect, help, serve.

as a kid, my parents made sure i was taught black history. they taught me to treat others as i would like to be treated – with kindness & respect. they taught me that i would always have to work that bit harder because the world is a sad place & people like me don’t always get ahead.

i’ve been told to “go back to where you come from”, looked at & magnitude of other shit that i’ve closed my mind to because how else would i be able to move forward. my dad has been arrested for checking on a black kid who was being man handled by 5 police officers & it took all more than 2 officers to arrest him. he’s been stopped & asked to prove that he is Mr Albert Vanterpool in a random traffic stop because a police officer curious as to why he, a black man, was driving a nice toyota corolla. my mum is a consultant nurse & is often the only POC when she’s giving talks, lectures, on government advisery boards & chairing meetings. she’s received an MBE for her work in local communities.

seeing this video makes my heart swell. the diverse & peacefulΒ protest brought the busiest street in central london to a stand still.

i feel super proud. london, i love you.”

Source: Instagram.com/nieshvanterpool

Leave a Reply

