WEARS: ADIDAS RE-RELEASE THE SUPERSTAR FOR 2015

Originally released in 1969 as pro-basketball shoe, the Adidas Superstar transcended the lines of the courts and became a wardrobe staple across the broadest range of subcultures. In the 1980s, groups such as Run DMC and The Beastie Boys repped the 3 stripes hard, doing so with their own unequivocal flair. As a yougin, I looked up to bands like these and was desperate to own a pair of my own.Β 

Photo Credit: Glen E Friedman

After the success with the re-release of the Stan Smith, the sneaker gods have blessed us with a Vintage Delux pack for 2015. Think OG white leather upper with 3 suede stripes in the classic colours – black, navy, green and red, a contrast back panel, gold emblem on the tongue and, of course, the iconic shell toe.

Aged 14, I managed to buy a pair on a school trip to New York and have had at least one pair in my arsenal ever since. I’ve been a fan of this shoe since I’ve been aware of my personal sense of style. The grubby pair on my are 11 years old.

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

