EATS: BUTTERNUT SQUASH & RED PEPPER PASTA SAUCE

I cook a lot. Most nights, I would say, and even more on my days off. I really enjoy trying new things or recreating things I’ve had in the past/on holiday that aren’t easily accessible here. I post a lot of it on Instagram and Facebook so I figure it only makes sense to post it here too. Right? Right.

When I Β saw thisΒ recipe on Oh My Veggies, I had to try it. And, even though I’m not the world’s biggest fan of capsicum, I really enjoyed it! It took a bit of time, which never bothers me as I like to eat something satisfactory for every meal. I’m not into “quick” or lazy cooking, especially when it comes to dinner times. So let’s dew diz…

I N G R E D I E N T S

  • 1 x small Butternut squash
  • 1 x red pepper
  • 1 Handful of cherry tomatos
  • 2-3 cloves of garlic (unpeeled)
  • Herbs (I used Basil and Oregano)
  • Seasoning (salt and black pepper)
  • Oil forΒ roasting
  • Vegetable stock/broth (I used a Knorr stock pot with 2 cups of water)
  • Parmesan cheese
  • pasta of choice
  • brocolli

M E T H O D

Sauce

  1. Peel and chop the squash into cubes and par boil for 5-10 minutes
  2. Chop red pepper into chunks and place on a baking tray with the garlic and cherry tomatos
  3. Once squash is tender, drain it (keep the water) add to the other vegetables and drizzle everything with oil
  4. Season with salt, pepper and herbs and roast until everything is brown
  5. Add stock cube/pot to the water used for boiling the squash and set aside
  6. Once the veg has roasted (roughly 30mins at 200), transfer to a blender (or pour into a pot and use a hand blender) and pulse until it’s the consistency of a sauce. Use the stock to thin it out to desired consistency as you go along.
  7. check for seasoning and then add parmesan cheese

Pasta

  1. Boil pasta in the remaining broth (or water if you prefer)
  2. While pasta is boiling, chop broccoli by removing it from the main stalk and then cutting the remaining stalk so that you just have mini florets.
  3. Drain pasta, return it to the pot and add broccoli
  4. pour over the squash & pepper sauce and toss
  5. dress as you wish – John used hot sauce, I had more parmesan

This was so good, really worth the time it takes (about an hour in total) and a good way to include veg that you’re not so keen on! It can also be easily veganized by removing the parmesan cheese. Hope you guys try it! Let me know how it turns out πŸ™‚

And one last thing – if you haven’t subscribed to my youtube channel yet, then you should! I’m doing A Video A Day challenge for the month of January so make sure you check them out to keep up with what’s going down.

 

 

Original Recipe posted on WWW.OHMYVEGGIES.COM

Pictures edited with VSCO

 

Leave a Reply

