IMPORTANT: WU TANG CLAN – A BETTER TOMORROW

As if we needed even more proof that Wu Tang really is for the children.

I received the news that the jury had decided not to indict Darren Wilson for the murder of 18yr old Michael Brown around 5am on Tues 25th Nov. I stirred to check the time on my phone and couldn’t settle. I decided to look through Instagram. I saw pictures of Michael Brown, ACAB, protests, marches and then I saw this and I knew..

I couldn’t go back to sleep. I tossed and turned for a bit then I decided to get up and pack my bags for my flight to HQ. I’d tried to pack the night before but everything kept going wrong. My chest of drawers broke. I stubbed my toe. I was tired and cranky and nothing was working. In hindsight, kind of ominous.

I got my bags together and left early because I had to catch the train instead of cycle. Get to the station? Trains cancelled there and then, on the spot. I took the bus and arrived at work an hour later than I should’ve done and was now entirely over everything.

On the hour long bus journey, I thought about a few things – about the dark world that we live in, the people that we share it with. I thought about all the times as a teenager that I was convinced that my parents were being unreasonably strict just straight up killing my vibes and then I felt sad. Deflated, defeated, heartbroken. I remembered all the times my mother said to me “it’s not you we’re worried about, it’s other people” and “as a black person in this world, you’ll have to work twice as hard as anyone else”. I cried because I felt helpless and afraid. Will the police “protect and serve” me and/or mine?I don’t want to believe that All Cops Are Bastards, I really really don’t. But cases like Mike Brown, Eric Garner, Treyvon Martin really have me feeling some type of way.

To top it all off, I got to the airport and realized that I’d left my passport at home. At that point, I really was done. DONE. I didn’t even get mad. I called my boss, changed my flight and went home.

The journey home restored a little of my faith in humanity. Instagram, twitter, facebook, tumblr? Mike Brown.Β It was reassuring to see so many people of all races, colours, creeds and religions all around the world speaking up. I’m relieved that people are talking about it. I’m happy that my peers are aware andΒ being so vocal about a need for change. STAY WOKE.

Black lives matter.

All lives matter.

MASH DOWN BABYLON.

*** RIP Michael Brown, RIP Eric Garner, RIP Treyvon and all of the other souls who’ve lost their lives at the hands of police brutality ***

Leave a Reply

