SHOOT: DEAN MARTINDALE

A few years back, I tried my hand at “modelling”. I use the term loosely because really and truly, I just posed for some friends. It was fun but I became frustrated with it very quickly.

It was the height of the Myspace/Buzznet/Model Mayhem/Suicide Girls/God’s Girls era so unless you were very heavily tattooed/had Rainbow Brite hair/were prepare to bare all, it wasn’t happening. I had some tattoos but not enough to be considered “alternative”. I am black but I refused to be categorized as “urban” because what the hell does that even mean anyway? I didn’t want to get nudy for the internerdz. I’m not particularly tall. I didn’t fit into any obvious slots so I just let it be. It wasn’t for me and I probably wasn’t good enough in the first place.

Fast forward 4 years…

I met Dean this past summer when he came into the showroom for a buying appointment. He was awesome and humble and I quickly learned that he was a photographer. I began following his work on instagram and soon got the itch to shoot again but first, I wanted to cut all my hair off…He begged me not to do it “DOOOORN’T DEW IT PAL” (he’s from Durham).

So I cut it all off anyway. I’ll post about at a later date but first, the shoot.

Bleary eyed, cold and tired, I took the bus through town on a Sunday morning to meet Dean at the studio. I hate taking buses, especially for long distances, but if I have to, early morning is my favourite time to do it. It’s the only time that there’s peace and quiet on public transport an there’s not traffic so you get to see everything that I love about this here city. I put my make up on in my hand held mirror and we started snapping.

Dean was literally jumping around with excitement. I didn’t really know what to think at the time but once he started editing and sending them through, I became excited too..

Dean was a pleasure to shoot with and I will be definitely be working with him again in the future. Hit him up for all of your photographic needs!

Credits:

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

