SPOTLIGHT: We Got Beef

If you follow me on instagram, you may’ve seen pictures of me causing trouble in various different countries, photographic evidence of me twerking in hotel rooms, my (awesome as fuck) Whitney hallowe’en costume and the awesome care packages that I receive from my friend Sacha at We Got Beef .

After following each other on “the gram” and exchanging a few likes here n there, it became apparent that he and I had a ton of mutual interests AND friends. WGB is sick so, obviously, I had to show my appreciation with a lil TATB spotlight…

376156_275004619203288_691540543_n

What’s WGB?

We Got Beef is a late night music bar/club in the Punavuori (Red Mountain) district of Helsinki, Finland.

What inspired you to start up WGB? 

The idea of a bar got started in 2002 when all of our favourite local bars closed their doors and we decided we needed a place of our own. I had previously in 1996 helped start a bar called The Jump Inn which catered to skaters, hardcore kids and hip hop heads as well as other local heavy drinkers, and when that place was up for grabs in early 2003 we decided to go for it. I worked in television and advertising at the time but felt that it held back my drinking so it felt like a natural progression.

Is it something that you’ve always wanted to do?

As long as I remember I always wanted to end up owning and operating bars and restaurants. I have always been obsessed with skate shops and bars as hang out spots and meeting places of like minded people. Back then I obviously had no realistic view of how the restaurant/bar business really works and how hard it is to actually succeed.

You seem to incorporate a lot of your lifestyle & personal interests in WGB. Is this something you made a conscious decision to do from the start?

I shamelessly incorporate my passion for apparel/skateboarding/music in our marketing and feel that I’d rather make t-shirts or skateboards than run a series of ads in a magazine or do pointless promotion otherwise. A lot of our clientele are artists and other creative individuals and many are more than happy to help us out with rocking our gear in their videos and shows and other ventures. The marketing and the concept of the bar is something we have been 100% true to since day one and we will continue this way as long as the younger generations keep coming,

What does the future hold for WGB?

We just turned 10 years in april and I hope there’s 10 more at least.

1398839_582999991737081_964990345_o

I have the utmost respect for people who have an idea and see it through to fruition. I’m trying to get to Helsinki ASAP and check out his bar in person. Thank you so much for my awesome gifts, Sacha. Make sure you like We Got Beef on Facebook and follow Sacha on Instagram!

photo

photo copy

photo copy 2

One thought on “SPOTLIGHT: We Got Beef

  1. Hey! I know this is kinda off topic nevertheless I’d figured
    I’d ask. Would you be interested in exchanging links or maybe guest writing
    a blog article or vice-versa? My site discusses a lot
    of the same subjects as yours and I feel we could greatly benefit from each other.
    If you’re interested feel free to send me an e-mail.

    I look forward to hearing from you! Wonderful blog by the way!

    Like

Leave a Reply

